Wrestlers of Yesterday

1978 Maryland State High School Team Champions

MPSSAA: Paint Branch
MSA: Mount St. Joseph
Maryland Junior League: Perry Hall

1978 National Prep Champions
Team Scores
1st Mount St. Joseph 150.5

1978 National Prep Individual Champions
102 3rd Ed Borda, St. John’s
109 1st Keith Dixon, Mount St. Joseph
116 2nd Guy Zanti, Mount St. Joseph
123 3rd Greg Perry, Mount St. Joseph
136 2nd Lou Chiapparelli, Mount St. Joseph
159 2nd Paul Triplett, Mount St. Joseph
171 Roy Brintall, Baltimore Lutheran

1978 MPSSA State Wrestling Championships
March 4-5 1978
At Catonsville Community College
Seventh Annual
Team Scores:
1. Paint Branch 51
2. Seneca Valley 46
3. Overlea 43.

1978 MPSSAA Individual Finals
98 Kevin Lethbridge, Paint Branch, d. Harbeson, Overlea 4-0
105 John Ong, Bowie, d. Fiske, Northwood, 11-7
112 Mike Hill, Seneca Valley, d. Preston, Franklin 13-1
119 Dale Reed, Aberdeen, d. Saylor, Peary 5-2
126 Doug Lombard, Old Mill, d. Kenvin, Peary 11-5
132 Joe White, Seneca Valley, d. Haushalter, Severna Park 12-2
138 Dave Framm, Churchill, d. Kowalski, Magruder 4-2
145 Scott Parker, Annapolis, d, Riggs, Southern (Howard) 8-2
155 Joe Culmone, Laurel, d. Pries, Paint Branch 6-4
167 Tim Tarbert, North Harford, d. Easter, Aberdeen 8-5
185 Tom Reese, North Carroll, d. Barton, Gaithersburg 9-7
UNL Jim Hyson, Francis Scott Key, d. Henson, High Point 3-2

Notes: MPSSAA:
The MPSSAA plans to consolidate its classification system for the 1979-1980 school year. The classifications will move from four classifications of AA, A, B, C to three classes of AAA, AA, A. There are nearly 150 high school in the MPSSAA. The wrestling tournament would be broken into two classifications of AA-A and B-C. That would go into effect for the 1979-1980 season.
Bruce Malinowski of Kenwood was upset in the semi-finals by Northwood’s Rusty Fiste. Malinowski was the State Champion last year at 98lbs.
Old Mill’s Doug Lombard won the 126lb championship. He entered the state tournament 23-5, but placed third in the Anne Arundel county tournament. He is Old Mill’s first state champion.

58th MSA State Wrestling Championship
Private Schools
February 23, 24, 25 1978
Poly High School

Team Scores
1. Mt. St. Joe 247.5
2. Walbrook 136
3. St. Paul’s 120.5
4. Gilman 112
5. Mervo 109.5
6. Poly 88.5
7. McDonogh 72
8. Northwestern 70
9. Boy’s Latin 48
10. Loyola 44
11. Lake Clifton 42
12. Archbishop Curley 40
13. Forest Park 35
14. Dunbar 34
15. John Carroll 31
16. Southwestern 25
17. Friends 19.5
18. Lutheran 19
19. Douglass 16.5
20. Cardinal Gibbons 16
20. Edmondson 16
22. Patterson 15.5
23. Severn 14
24. City 12
25. Northern 7
26. Carver 6
27. Southern 4.5

1978 MSA Individual Finals
98. Erick Bruder, MSJ d. Tony Lottman, STP. 6-3
105 V. Pearson, Walbrook, p. J. Binetti, StP. 1:53
112 Guy Zanti, MSJ d. J Harvey, StP. 5-0
119 Greg Peery, MSJ d. D. Patteson StP. 10-6
126 J. Baskerville, Mervo d. C. Richardson, Poly, 6-1
132 Pete Ireland, MSJ d. S. Harman, McD. 6-2
139 Lou Chiapparelli, MSJ. p. B. Jenson, ACS 4:26
145 Chip Molloy, MSJ. d. K. Wiggins, Mervo 5-3
155 M. Mattox, Northwestern d. Andy Heffner, MSJ 4-2
167 Paul Triplett, MSJ. d. T. Whittle, Poly 9-8
187 Derrick Campbell, Walbrook p. Garrett Pfeiffer, G. 2:34
UNL. J. Fritz, John Carroll, p. Robert Peacock, Northwestern 1:24

Notes: MSA
Mount St. Joe has 8 finalist and 7 champions. They win their third consecutive title. Only two schools have won five consecutive titles: Gilman and City.
MSJ is also the A conference dual meet champions.
Walbrook’s senior Derrick Campbell is voted Outstanding Wrestler. He pinned his way through the tournament. Campbell did not start wrestling until 10th grade.
MSJ, Lou Chiapparelli also pinned his way though the tournament. He shared the Edward T Russell cup with Campbell for the most team points scored.
MSJ wrestler Guy Zanti has won his third MSA title after finishing in 2nd place his freshman year. He has not been defeated in Maryland in three years. He is a returning National Prep Champion.
Greg Peery repeated as MSA champion.
Walbrook won the MSA B Dual meet title.

Maryland Junior League Championship
March 10-11, 1978
At Perry Hall High School
60. Royer, Andover
65. Olson, Reisterstown
70. Bryant, Golden Ring
75. Clemens, Perry Hall
80. Hirsch, Randallstown
85. Denoncourt, Loch Raven
90. Patterson, St. Paul’s
95. Wagener, Golden Ring
100. Taylor, Perry Hall
105. Baughman, Perry Hall
115. Rico Chiapparelli, Perry Hall
120. Catanzaro, St. Paul’s
125. Register, McKim
135. Walker, Towson
140. Featherstone, McKim

Team Scores:
1. Perry Hall 162
2. St. Paul’s 146
3. Andover 116.5