Wrestlers of Yesterday

1987 Maryland State High School Champions

AA-A: Eastern Vocational
B-C: Beall
MSA: Mount St. Joseph

1987 MPSSA State Championships
March 7-8 1987
18th Annual
At Western Maryland College

1987 National Prep Championships
2nd Bullis (1st without post graduates) 164
4th Mount St. Joseph 82
8th Calvert Hall 70

1987 National Prep Individual Placers
95 1st Sean Fox, Calvert Hall, 2nd Chris Kalel, Bullis, 3rd Scott Rothstein, Boys Latin, 4th John Allman, DeMatha
102 2nd Tuan Lam, Bullis, Duane Sherman, Gilman
116 2nd Bob Bunting, Bullis
123 3rd Scott Shaw, Mount St. Joe. 4th Scott Alban, Bullis
130 1st Scott Schmitt, Mount St. Joseph, 4th Greg Elliot, Calvert Hall, 8th Marshall Brown, Gilman
142 1st Andre Kelley, Bullis, 7th Randy Brown, Gilman
149 4th Henry Franklin, Gilman, 6th Gary Spangler, Bishop McNamara
159 6th Eric Woods, Maryland School for the Deaf
171 2nd Ricky Grapes, Bullis, 6th Todd Crandall, Gilman
189 1st Phil Bryant, DeMatha,
275 2nd Elbert Ouzts, Bishop McNamara, 7th Jim Croniger, DeMatha

Notes: Bullis Prep defended its National Prep Title. Mount St. Joseph’s Scott Smith became a two time National Prep Champion. Schmitt is also named tournament Outstanding Wrestler.

1987 MPSSAA Championships
Team Scores AA-A
1. Eastern Tech 99
2. Old Mill 59.5
3. Glen Burnie 51
4. Westminster 50
5. Laurel 48.5
6. Broadneck 46.5
7. North Carroll, Largo 39
9. Kenwood 33.5
10. Albert Einstein 30.5

1987 MPSSAA Championships
Team Scores B-C
1. Beall 84.5
2. Lackey 84
3. Oakland Mills 68
4. North East 59
5. Francis Scott Key 58.5
6. Aberdeen 43
7. Wicomico 40
8. Williamsport 30.5
9. Owings Mills 25
10. Parkside 22.5

1987 MPSSAA Individual Finals
98 David Land, Laurel d. Burgess, Parkside 4-2
105 Marty Fowler, Frederick Douglas d. Andrews, Old Mill 15-4
112 Gunner Burling, Laurel d. Denufo, High Point 11-1
119 Jeff Ward, North Hagerstown d. Sessions, Annapolis
126 Randy Grant, Largo p. Danny Thomas, North Carroll 1:17
132 Ron Howard, Old Mill d. McSorley, Perry Hall
138 Chris Schneider, Broadneck d. Dougherty, Albert Einstein 11-0
145 Joe Gast jr. EVT d. Boyce, Old Mill 8-0 (OT)
155 Tom Boyer, Westminster d. Katilas, EVT 7-3
167 Abbas Sabur, Glen Burnie d. Dry, Broadneck 7-3
185 Jeff Reck, Westminster d. Bishop, Severna Park 9-5
UNL Brian Gifford, EVT p. Roark, Sherwood 3:48

Championship Finals Class B-C
98 Wes Walker, Beall d. Johnson, Owings Mills 2-1
105 Andy Brown, Wilde Lake d. Lewis, Centennial 8-5
112 Joey Latham, North East d. Burgess, Parkside 13-8
119 Kevin Gast, Aberdeen d. Jacobs, Mount Hebron 12-2
126 Jeff Rosenburg, Oakland Mills tf. Norman, Forestville 3:32
132 Rick Wear, Francis Scott Key d. Hull, Wicomico 8-6
138 Ryan Davis, Beall d. Hunt, Oakland Mills 6-3
145 Tim Roop, Francis Scott Key d. Thomas, Oakland Mills 9-7
155 Barbar, Wicomico d. Greimel, Havre de Grace 8-7
167 David Gentilcore, Lackey d. Winebrenner, Valley 9-7
185 Mike Baker, Williamsport d. Preisch, North East 9-3
UNL Bobby Reynolds, North East-Cecil Co d. Cutler, Beall 9-6

67th MSA State Wrestling Championship
Private and Baltimore City Schools
February 21, 22 1987
Poly High School

1987 MSA Championships
Team Scores
1. Mt. St. Joe 280
2. Gilman 232.5
3. Southwestern 176.5
4. Calvert Hall 172.5
5. Poly 147
6. Boys’ Latin 125
7. St. Paul’s 116
8. Curley 100
9. Loyola 69
10. John Carroll 65

1987 MSA Individual Finals
98 Ken Stokes, Southwestern d. Sean Fox, Calvert Hall 11-1
105 Willie Cooper, Southwestern d. Scott Hartzberg, MSJ 9-2
112 Evan Deane, St. Paul’s. d. Kurt Owens, Boys Latin 11-7
119 Scott Shaw, MSJ. inj def. Reggie Green, Southwestern
126 Binky Jones, MSJ. d. Louis Bonincontri, Curley. 4-2
132 Scott Schmitt, MSJ. p. Durrell Jenkins, Southwestern 4:55
139 George Stannis, Poly d. Steve Mason, St. Paul’s 9-6
145 Henry Franklin, Gilman d. Tim Flynn, MSJ. 7-2
155 Walter Reed, Southwestern d. Jeff Hake, Calvert Hall 18-9
167 David Dvorak, MSJ. d. Todd Crandell, Gilman 8-7
187 Peter Kwiterovich, Gilman d. Kevin Brown Poly 12-7
UNL Chris Owens, MSJ. d. Al Simmons, Poly 9-7

Mount St. Joe wins 12th straight championship. Mount St. Joe had five champions. Dvorak of MSJ wrestled with two leg braces, one for a torn acl in each knee. Scott Schmitt of Mount St. Joseph is named Outstanding Wrestler. Gilman placed all 12 of its wrestlers. Henry Franklin of Gilman became the school’s first 4 time finalist in over 50 years. Kenny Stokes of Southwestern won the Edward T. Russell Cup for most team points scored.

EVT wins first state championship and has first two individual state champions.

The margin of victory between Beall and Lackey was .5 points.